Wagas na Pagsusulat para sa Teatro

Launch of Mga Piling Dula mula sa Virgin Labfest 2013-2016 Ikatlong Antolohiya


Happening this July 6, 2017, 6:00 PM, at the Silangan Hall of the Cultural Center of the Philippines is the launch of Mga Piling Dula mula sa Virgin Labfest 2013-2016 Ikatlong Antolohiya. Get to know new and seasoned playwrights, as this event will be a gathering and a celebration of the imagination of Filipino theater practitioners.

This third anthology encompasses the 9th to 12th year of the Virgin Labfest. From the 48 plays that were staged, 19 works were included in the said book. These works have been gathered from playwrights namely Herlyn Alegre, Alexandra May Cardoso, Ma. Cecilia de la Rosa, Eljay Castro Deldoc, Jerome Ignacio, J-Mee (Marie) Katanyag, Dominique Beatrice T. La Victoria, Reya May Laplana, Maynard Manansala, Liza Magtoto, Bernadette Neri, Dingdong Novenario, Raymund Reyes, Juan Miguel Severo, Kevin Tabora, Guelan Varela-Luarca, and Carlo Vergara.

The launch will be blessed with the presence of the people involved with the production of the anthology, along with the playwrights. The program starts at 6: 00 PM with a Welcome Address by CCP Vice President and Artistic Director, Mr. Chris B. Millado, followed by the Opening Remarks of anthology editor, Mr. Rody Vera, then the distribution of copies to the writers. Ms. Liza Magtoto and Ms. Alexandra May Cardoso will represent the playwrights for the Writer’s Response. The program will end with a salusalo, photo and book signing opportunities with the playwrights, and book selling of Unang Tagpo and Virgin Labfest Anthologies 1 and 2. Grab the chance to buy your copies at a discounted launching price.

The anthology of the Virgin Labfest, including the first two books, covers 12 years of the festival held annually since 2004, which proves to be a vessel for the growth of Philippine theater writing. Virgin Labfest is an annual festival of unpublished, unstaged, untried and untested works for the theater held at the CCP. It is a partnership project of The Writer’s Bloc Inc., Tanghalang Pilipino Inc. and the CCP. This year’s theme is “Wagas!”